Get Tom Flores into the Hall of Fame now

Tom Flores


Raiders head coach Tom Flores has been a trailblazer, pioneer and winner in the NFL, so it’s hard to believe he is still not in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony will be on Aug. 8, and again, Flores will not be inducted despite winning two Super Bowl titles for the Raiders, and another one as an assistant under John Madden, who is already in the Hall of Fame.

Flores also has a four Super Bowl ring as a backup quarterback with the Kansas City Chiefs when they won the 1970 Super Bowl. Only Flores and former Chicago Bears head coach Mike Ditka were able to win titles as a player, assistant and head coach. Ditka was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1988.

As a pioneer, Flores was the first Hispanic quarterback in the league,and became the first minority head coach to win a Super Bowl title.

When the Raiders won the 1984 title, it became the only Super Bowl title ever won by a Southern California team.

Someone had mentioned to me that Flores might not be in the Hall of Fame because it was believed the Super Bowl titles were due to maverick owner Al Davis. But the Raiders have not won a Super Bowl since Flores.

Induction into the Hall of Fame is subjective and when it comes to Flores, there are several contradictions.

Here are some of the coaches in the Super Bowl era with two titles or less that are in the Hall of Fame are: Bill Parcells (2), Don Shula (2), Vince Lombardi (2), Tom Landry (2), Hank Stram (1), Weeb Ewbank (1), Sid Giillman (0), Marv Levy (0), Bud Grant (0),

So if fans believe Flores should be in the Hall of Fame, they should reach the voters.

Below is a list of Hall of Fame voters, and their Twitter handles, if available.

Kent Somers (@kentsomers)

Len Pasquarelli

Scott Garceau (@ScottGShow1057)

Vic Carucci (@VicCarucci)

Darin Gantt (@DarinGantt)

Dan Pompei (@danpompei)

Joe Reedy (@JoeReedy)

Tony Grossi (@TonyGrossi)

Rick Gosselin (@RickGosselinDMN)

Jeff Legwold (@Jeff_Legwold)

Dave Birkett (@DaveBirkett)

Pete Dougherty (@PeteDougherty)

John McClain (@McClain_on_NFL)

Mike Chappell  (@MChappell51)

Sam Kouvaris (@SamKouvaris)

Randy Covitz (@RandyCovitz)

Armando Salguero (@ArmandoSalguero)

Mark Craig (@MarkCraigNFL)

Ron Borges (@RonBorges)

Jeff Duncan (@JeffDuncan_)

Bob Glauber (@BobGlauber)

Gary Myers (@GaryMyersNYDN)

Frank Cooney (@FrankCooney)

Paul Domowitch (@pdomo)

Ed Bouchette (@EdBouchette)

Bernie Miklasz (@Miklasz)

Nick Canepa (@SDUTCanepa)

Nancy Gay (@NancyGay)

Mike Sando (@SandoESPN)

Ira Kaufman (@IKaufmanTBO)

David Climer (@DavidClimer)

David Elfin (@DavidElfin)

Darryl Ledbetter (@DOrlandoLED)

Howard Balzer (@HBalzer721)

Jarrett Bell (@JarrettBell)

John Clayton (@ClaytonESPN)

Jason Cole (@JasonColeBR)

John Czarnecki,

Clark Judge (@ClarkJudgeTOF)

Peter King (@SI_PeterKing)

Ira Miller

Sal Paolantonio (@SalPal_ESPN)

Vito Stellino (@VitoStellino)

Jim Trotter (@JimTrotter_NFL)

Charean Williams (@NFLCharean)

Barry Wilner (@Wilner88)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s